Given the rising numbers and new Omicron variant emerging in Canada, the Canadian government has implemented a new policy for fully vaccinated travelers who have traveled outside Canada and the US within 14 days prior to their entry to Canada.

Effective immediately, any such fully vaccinated travelers that are selected for arrival testing will be required to quarantine in a suitable place until they receive a negative test result. The amount of fully vaccinated travelers selected for arrival testing will be increased to 100% within the upcoming weeks.

The policies for unvaccinated travelers have not changed.

Canadian citizens, permanent residents, and those with status under the Indian Act who have been to Botswana, Egypt, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zimbabwe within 14 days prior to their entry into Canada continue to be subject to subject to enhanced Covid screening measures. These travelers are required to stay at a designated quarantine facility while they await a negative test result from their arrival testing. All other foreign nationals who have visited the above-listed countries within 14 days will not be permitted entry to Canada.

If you have any questions about this news update, or COVID-19 as it relates to Canadian immigration please contact us directly.


Recent Posts


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This