Press Room

Information for Applicants to the New Federal Skilled Worker Program

A pause on the intake of applications to the Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) in place since July 1, 2012 will be lifted on May 4, 2013 with a re-established eligible occupations stream.

In order to be eligible for processing under the revamped FSWP on or after May 4, 2013, prospective applicants must ensure that they meet at least one of the following requirements:

  • have at least one year of continuous work experience in one of the 24 eligible occupations (please see below for the full list);
  • have a qualifying offer of arranged employment; or
  • are eligible to apply through the PhD stream.

In addition to these basic requirements, applicants must also meet the minimum language threshold and obtain an educational credential assessment (if submitting a foreign educational credential).

Minimum Language Threshold

Prospective applicants must meet the minimum language threshold: Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) 7 or Niveaux de compétence linguistique canadiens (NCLC) 7 in all four skills (listening, speaking, reading, and writing).

To prove language proficiency, a prospective applicant must take a third-party language test from an organization designated by the Minister and submit their test report along with their application to CIC.

CIC-designated language testing organizations include: Canadian English Language Proficiency Index Program (CELPIP), International English Language Testing System (IELTS), and Test d’évaluation de français (TEF).

Third-party language tests are scored differently by each of these organizations, and applicants must ensure that their scores correspond to the CLB or NCLC.

Educational Credential Assessment

Prospective Applicants with foreign educational credentials must also obtain an Educational Credential Assessment (ECA).

CIC will use the ECA process to help determine if the foreign educational credential is authentic and equivalent to a completed credential in Canada. CIC has stated that the ECA is intended to provide a realistic understanding of how foreign credentials are likely to be recognized in Canada, and is aimed at helping individuals arriving to Canada through to FSWP integrate more easily and quickly into the Canadian labour force.

As of April 17, 2013, four organizations have been designated by the Minister to provide ECA reports for purposes of immigrating to Canada under the FSWP. Additional organizations may be designated by CIC in the future. The designated organizations are:

  • Comparative Education Service;
  • International Credential Assessment Service of Canada;
  • World Education Services; and,
  • Medical Council of Canada.

CIC has advised that it will only accept ECA reports issued after the date the organization was designated by CIC to provide ECA reports for immigration purposes (April 17, 2013). Applicants interested in applying for the FWSP on or after May 4, 2013 may apply now to these organizations to have their credentials assessed.

Eligible Occupations (with corresponding National Occupation Classification code)

CIC has established an overall cap of 5,000 new applications for all eligible occupations, as well as a sub-cap of 300 new applications for each eligible occupation.

  • 0211 Engineering managers
  • 1112 Financial and investment analysts
  • 2113 Geoscientists and oceanographers
  • 2131 Civil engineers
  • 2132 Mechanical engineers
  • 2134 Chemical engineers
  • 2143 Mining engineers
  • 2144 Geological engineers
  • 2145 Petroleum engineers
  • 2146 Aerospace engineers
  • 2147 Computer engineers (except software engineers/designers)
  • 2154 Land surveyors
  • 2174 Computer programmers and interactive media developers
  • 2243 Industrial instrument technicians and mechanics
  • 2263 Inspectors in public and environmental health and occupational health and safety
  • 3141 Audiologists and speech-language pathologists
  • 3142 Physiotherapists
  • 3143 Occupational Therapists
  • 3211 Medical laboratory technologists
  • 3212 Medical laboratory technicians and pathologists’ assistants
  • 3214 Respiratory therapists, clinical perfusionists and cardiopulmonary technologists
  • 3215 Medical radiation technologists
  • 3216 Medical sonographers
  • 3217 Cardiology technicians and electrophysiological diagnostic technologists, n.e.c. (not elsewhere classified)

For additional information, please contact Green and Spiegel LLP.